Freshman Year
Freshman Year

I read a challenge post today asking that we share a favorite photo taken and why it’s a favorite. I have far too many favorite photos to really pick an absolute favorite, but this one would be in my top-ten all-time favorites. I shot this image during my son’s freshman year in high school (he’s now a senior) on a Saturday morning. We happened to be at the school for a morning event, and on our way off the campus, the lighting in this walkway caught my eye. So, he humored me by posing (as he usually does).

He takes direction very well, and when he went to have senior portraits taken, the photographer was so pleased with the poses he moved into naturally – after years of instruction from mom! He even thanked me for the lessons. Some folks have commented, too, on seeing this photo that they thought it was a senior portrait.

Anyway, I loved the lighting in this shot, and his attire worked very well with the neutral tones of the surroundings. I’ve never been able to recreate such a setting, but not for lack of trying!

