Rugged day today…I worked from home, and that usually means a longer work day I can be “at my desk” right out of bed. And that’s the way it went today. And the hits just kept on coming. An hour long conference call with a client ran over, and I was coordinating work between someone in the office and another team member in our Cleveland office. Then there was the conference call with folks in Deerfield (IL). Wore me out.

And the work day came to a close only because I had some place to be. I’d rather have kept working, in some respects, because the place I had to be was a memorial service. Honestly, there’s enough emotional exhaustion in my life from a solo standpoint. Still, I’m honored to have wonderful friends, so I am there to support them as they face their loss. Being an acutely empathic person, though, means I feel their loss rather intensely. Indeed, it was draining.

Still, I couldn’t not go. But once I’d paid my respects and hugged everyone, I retreated to my safe place…the knitting chair! I turned TV on and got sucked into the entertainment of Leverage on TNT. I can’t resist Christian Kane, so there you have it. I got a fair amount of the SKA mystery socks done, though there’s still a lot to go on the current clue. Tomorrow is Knit Knite, so I will make all the progress I can through that event. Then I really have to rest up. Friday I’ll be leaving work at noon to maniacally scramble to pull everything together for our 48-hour scrapbooking crop.

Plus I’ll put together the supplies for making my Sock Wars weapon. The patterns will be released at 8 p.m. Friday night, so I will suspend the scrapping for a time to cast on and get started on the socks. Matt will not be running in the meet at Capital on Saturday, so I won’t be taking a knitting break midday, however I hope to still meet up with him and Beth for a little while. Her birthday is tomorrow, and she’s been gifted some really pretty socks. Maybe she’ll wear them…

In the meantime, I’m still liking the purply goodness…

