This time, though, I got toys. I came into work to discover I’d gotten two deliveries: my Never Not Knitting 2010 Calendar, with fabulous stuff for every day from the Yarn Harlot, and my new digital picture frame to replace the one that fell apart over the summer. Then, at Knit Knite, I got the piece de resistance (read with full KY/WV/Jeff Foxworthy accent as pees day ray-zist-ants): my brand-spanking-new-fangled yarn ball winder. When I say it, I tend to feel compelled to put the word “yarn” in front because to the non-knitter it just sounds so wrong…

I was very productive at Knit Knite, though I have no photos to show for it yet. I completed another section in Clue #2 of the mystery socks. I think Clue #3 comes out Friday, but I won’t have time to address that until next week. I have a lot of prep work to do for my scrapbooking weekend that starts at 6 on Friday, and then the Sock Wars V patterns are released at 8 p.m.

Back to my ball winding adventure though. I was so excited to bring this puppy home and attach it to my card table in the living room, right next to my makeshift swift (say that five times fast!). I stopped after winding three skeins only because a) I was drop-dead tired before I even started and b) I need to figure out a way to better gauge the midpoint of the skein. This may involve yet another purchase, since a scale is obviously the most accurate method. I’m not disappointed with the results, but before I launch a winding party, I want to have my system in place. Really, this is just too cool!

I had been petting the Scarlet Socks as they hung on the closet door, waiting for the winder. The other skein I was very anxious to wind up is my Sock Wars weaponry material. I’m ready for action now!

Now I have to focus on work, which pays the bills and funds my toy purchases. You can be sure there will be more! Hee hee…

