It’s Wednesday, and there’s still no end in sight to my frenetic happenings. It all started on Friday when I left work for my scrapping weekend. I had errands to run, snacks to procure, and time to burn. Once I arrived at the hotel, the pace picked up. I checked in, unloaded my scrapping materials, then carted my luggage off to the room.

The cropping started slow as I assessed where I had left off. My goal was to finish up my 2009 Adventures album, and I had left off midway through my Pittsburgh trip in August. There were still LOTS of pictures to work with. I was distracted, too, since Sock Wars was kicking off at 8 p.m. with the posting of the battle patterns.

I was patient, and I even waited until almost 9 before I wandered off to the hotel’s Business Center to see about printing out my pattern selection. And it wasn’t until 10:45 that I abandoned the crop room for the comfort of the hotel bed (and lemme tell you – the Marriott has very comfortable beds!) to cast on. Friday night closed with Criminal Minds on A&E and twisted ribbing in bed. My roommates joined me shortly after 11, and we were up for two more hours.

Weaponry Material: Ready!

Saturday morning I got up early so I could scramble home to get the forgotten cell phone charger. I took the opportunity, too, to finish up the ribbing on the socks. Once I returned to the hotel, it was all scrapping (and food) for a while. I took a break mid-morning to knit, and I hopped online to see what my fellow competitors were doing. Seems a lot of folks were grumbling about the pattern I had chosen. The textured pattern is very slow going, and some ladies decided to frog their work after completing a few inches. I swallowed hard on that, but decided to press on anyway. The pattern is really pretty, and I’ve had lots of practice doing the twist stitches it uses. Just keep kniting, just keep knitting…

At lunchtime I finally heard from my son who had come to Columbus with his girlfriend to cheer on the track team. Coach had decided not to enter any distance runners in the meet, so Matt didn’t have to compete. That made it much more relaxed for him, but also threw my schedule up in the air. We finally met up at Capital University during the meet. I spent a couple hours with Matt & Beth, and cheered for a number of Witt runners. This was the first time I had witnessed a hurdles race in person! Photography at the event was a challenge, but I gave it a shot…

Hurdles!

I left campus to return to the hotel and meet up with my church-going sisters. Our last break for the day was to attend Mass at a nearby church, and I really enjoyed it. The priest said a wonderful homily, and he literally spoke to each person in the congregation. We returned to the crop in time for dinner, and then it was all scrapping! I finished inserting all the photos through my Toledo trip, so there were only a couple pages left to round out 2009, plus the journaling. At 11:30 I resumed my knitting, determined to stay with my friend & roommate as late as she opted to stay up. We finally headed to the room about 2 a.m., when she was getting too punchy to finish her two-page layout.

Sunday was not as laid back as one might expect. A lot of ladies had turned in early the night before just because breakfast was a bit more structured. Hot breakfast was served from 8 to 9, and we managed to drag ourselves down there for 8:30, though a bit bleary-eyed. My friend Tammy also had to host her kids for the day since her husband was working and there were issues with her sitter (not the least of which was the cost for an entire second day!). I plugged away at my work, completing two digital layouts to round out my 2009 album. I decided to combine a slou of pictures in one 8×10 print rather than my standard wallet prints, and that worked out nicely. I was able to spotlight even more pictures in less space! By the time we closed up the crop at 6 p.m., I had finished 27 pages with 230 photos! I still have to step through and count how many pictures are in the album…

Scrapping the Year Away

Once I got home, it was all knitting all the time. Monday was a holiday, so I took advantage of the opportunity to sleep in. And I plopped down in my easy chair and knit the day away in front of the television. I definitely agree with folks that this pattern is a slow knit, but progress was made…

Come Tuesday, I had to return to work. Alas! And now the threat of death is obvious with the arrival of the mail! I had read online that several competitors had died over the weekend, each receiving a glorious pair of socks to herald his or her demise. And so, I watched as our delivery person inserted mail in various boxes (he apparently isn’t one to pre-sort). 

My heart jumped into my throat when I saw him place a small USPS flat rate box in my mailbox. I knew I was dead. Dead, dead, dead. So I ceremoniously carried the box to a friend to ask that she open the box for me, as I do not have suicidal tendencies at the moment. She kindly pried the box open, and said in surprise, “How nice! You got sock yarn, too. Wait – there are no socks in her!” The box contained a skein of yarn I won in a KAL. Squee – I live to knit another day!

And the battle wages on…

