Friday night I drove out to Louisville to have a mini adventure. I haven’t been out of central Ohio in a while, so I took advantage of the weekend when Matt wasn’t competing. I stayed at the Best Western which is only a few miles away from the zoo, my key target. A winter weather advisory was in effect beginning at 7 p.m., so I did my best to get out of Columbus as early as I could. By 6 p.m. I was on the road and heading south. The snow held off for quite a while, though a few miles from my hotel I passed a line of four snow plow/salt trucks on the berm of the freeway…apparently on stand-by, waiting for the storm to arrive.

Arrive it did, and with quite a punch. I woke up Saturdy morning to see two solid inches of snow outside. It took a while for me to clear off my car, but I still made it to the zoo before they opened.

I made two full circuits of the zoo, though I skipped a couple sections on my first go-around. I was really hoping to get some fantastic photos of the female Amur Tiger, Etta. Her daughters, Anya & Irisa, are at the Columbus Zoo. Oddly enough, the two times I came up to her enclosure, she was just about to lie down and nap. Not surprisingly, she was fairly alert, even when resting her eyes. My patience and determination were rewarded…

There were more close encounters to be had, including a fun exchange with an orangutan. On my return trip, I also made a detour into Covington, Kentucky, to visit the Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption. This church has some incredible stained glass windows! I love the brightness of the sanctuary, among other things…

