It was bound to happen. I’ve been reading online about a number of knitters who are unable to work certain stitch combinations due to a malady, usually some kind of repetitive motion injury such as carpal tunnel syndrome. Feeling invincible, I’ve been knitting like a maniac (in case you couldn’t tell) without regard to the tools of my craft – most noticeably my hands.

I discovered Wednesday evening that I had developed a callous on my right index finger, but one spot on that finger was a major pain point. It turns out that as I have been knitting with my Addi Lace Turbo needles, which are very pointy, my technique has been to slide stitches along the needle by pushing the needle rather than pulling on the stitches. This one spot on my finger is obviously where I’ve pushed the most. I would’ve expected a visible sign of the problem, like a bruise, but there is nothing more than a white dot on my finger. But golly, it hurts if I push on the needle right on that spot!

This has slowed my knitting just a tad. On Thursday I put a fingertip bandage on this pained finger, and that enabled me to resume my pushing technique. The bandage provides enough padding that it distributes the pressure from the needle tip along a larger surface of my finger (isn’t physics cool?). I may have this pair of socks finished Friday night – I just have to continue up the legs so they’re at least five inches from the top of the heel. The lace pattern has become easier as I’ve been working it for some time, though on the leg there are two different patterns, each repeated twice. These will be very pretty when I am finished – and then I can return to one of the other pairs of socks I already have going. The next round of Iron Knitter kicks off the day Ravelympics begins, coinciding with the Opening Ceremonies of the XXI Winter Olympics in Vancouver. Lots more knitting to ensue…

Iron Spring

Knit on…

