Friday was challenging at work as I pressed to move forward on projects that are due next week. All the while I was wanting to be knitting, too. The Iron Knitter Round Two has been underway for several days, and a handful of participants had already posted photos of their completed socks. Throughout the day folks in the office headed out to work from home since a blustery snowstorm was dropping giant flakes over Columbus. And yet, I stayed and worked.

Once I got home, I started to work on the socks, but I got rather tired rather quickly. I actually went to bed before 8 p.m., thinking it was more important to rest at that particular time. It worked out, though, as I slept a solid five hours, then got to keep on sleeping! All the while, the snow came down.

At 4:30 a.m. on Saturday, though, I was wide awake. So, I got up and returned to my sock knitting while watching Animal Planet. Having decided the day before that I wanted to trek up to the Columbus Zoo, I stopped the knitting for this adventure. And I am so glad that I did! I had some neat moments with a number of animals, but none compare to watching the lion cubs! In the forty minutes I watched them, I snapped almost 400 photos. A number of them are terrible, naturally, as the fences always create focusing issues. And the snow and ice that had collected within the fence added to that complication. Still, they played and played and played, and then the played some more!

Cubs 2010

Once I got home, I resumed my knitting. At last, the Iron Spring socks are finished…

