That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it! I’m continuing to knit away at this Peacock Shawl, but it’s a slow process indeed. I finally worked out the math so I could get a handle on how far along in the project I’ve gotten. There are over 70,000 stitches in the finished shawl, and nearly a quarter of that is in the final chart, only 32 rows long. As of Tuesday night, I have completed 114 rows and about 35% of the stitches (over 24K). It will be a definite challenge to complete this project by midnight on Sunday, but it’s still do-able. And once it’s finished, it will have been well worth the effort.

I’ve really enjoyed watching the Olympic games as I work on this project, too. I was disappointed Tuesday night that my man (Bode Miller) scrubbed out of the Giant Slalom. At least he wasn’t hurt. Other events covered in that eveings broadcast include the women’s singles short program, women’s bobsledding, women’s ski cross and the men’s Nordic combined. That last event was particularly exciting given that the US team won the silver, and it’s the first time the US has ever medaled in that event! Historic moments all over the place.

On Monday, my second “kill” was confirmed in Sock Wars. The socks that started their journey in Australia and wound up in Alabama hit their mark either on Saturday or Monday, and their recipient reported her “death” on Monday. So now I wait for the next pair of Socks-in-Progress (SIPs), perhaps from that target in Alabama. I also learned that my assassin out in South Dakota may be dead now or soon, in which case my death may be deferred even more. My assassin’s latest assassin, though, is a pretty quick knitter, so at best I expect to get one more kill in before my demise. 😀 It will be a merciful death, as Iron Knitter still has a ways to go!

The latest, greatest news in my world, though, is that I have booked airfare to take my son and myself to Colorado in the spring. We will be flying west to Colorado Springs to visit with my brother & sister-in-law. This will be Matt’s first visit to the Centennial State, and my second – I was there when I was ten and our family drove west for Dad to attend a convention in Denver. I had started looking at airfare around Christmastime when I had confirmed suitable dates with Matt. We have to wait for his semester to end, and then we didn’t want to interfere with Father’s Day or his stepmom’s birthday. That leaves a rather narrow window of opportunity. Then I found out that my parents will be there to visit just before us. My mother wants to see the USAF Thunderbirds fly at the Air Force Academy for their graduation ceremonies. They’ll bug out a couple days before we arrive. I’ve already started looking at travel info, and Sheila has posted so many amazing pictures of the scenery in their part of the state. My camera will definitely get a workout! I wonder if I need a third 8GB memory card…

In other travel news, plans are in the works to take a cruise in the fall. I’m still collecting data – as well as roommate volunteers! 😉 Meanwhile, there’s still a lot of work ahead on this shawl. I dyed another two skeins of yarn on Monday night, so three skeins remain un-dyed. It’s tough at times, feeling torn between knitting (need to work more stitches!) and getting more yarn prepared! And let’s not even talk about laundry…

