Well, this third round of Sock Wars hasn’t turned out too bad so far. About 24 hours after I received the SIPs package, I have completed the leg on the second sock and started working the heel flap for the first one. The original assassin, it turns out, had made it to the heel flap and started it, but the flap was being knit inside-out, so the purl side with the slipped stitch floats on the outside of the sock.

Once I reached the leg length for the second sock, I turned my attention to the leg that was already completed. I set up a lifeline thread through the stitches directly above the heel flap, then ripped out the heel flap stitches. Once this was done, I could re-start the heel flap.

All of this happened while I was watching the Olympics, featuring several exciting moments. The top story in my opinion was the men’s Nordic Combined – Long Hill/10K. The coverage I saw (following choir practice) picked up toward the end of the cross-country race. Americans Bill DeMong and Johnny Spillane were two-thirds of the lead group, with Austrian Bernhard Gruber, and the Americans had the lead for the whole time I watched. I seem to tear up easily these days, and seemingly for no reason at times. Well, tears streamed down my face as the race came to a close with DeMong striding out on those long cross-country skis and into the history books as the first American ever to win Olympic gold in the Nordic Combined. And Spillane took the silver, his third in these games.

In the men’s aerial competition, something akin to the diving I enjoy in the Summer Olympics, Team USA’s Jeret “Speedy” Peterson took the silver following his successful landing of the “hurricane,” an impressive combination of flips and spins (formally labeled a back full-triple-full-full) that work in five complete rotations before coming to the ground. This combination has a difficulty level far above most of the field – the only other jump that was close in difficulty has a really cool description: Back Rudy-Randy-Full. The gold medal went to Belarusian Alexei Grishin.

The grand finale for the evening, of course, was the women’s figure skating. The free skate was very entertaining. Two US competitors, Rachael Flatt and Mirai Nagasu, were amazing. The gold medalist from South Korea, Kim Yu-na, certainly earned her personal best combined score of 228.56. The silver medalist, Mao Asada of Japan, was far from happy about taking second place, even though she also earned a personal best score. The commentators made repeated remarks about how both of these contenders were subject to tremendous pressure from their home countrymen. Much like the Dutch speed skaters, less than gold means failure. How tragic is that?

For my closing remarks, I will leave you with the Yarn Harlot’s quote for today from my Never Not Knitting calendar: “You know you knit too much when…your mailman finally asks you why all the packages you get are so light and squishy.”

Knit on.

