I’m been mulling this post over all week, and it has taken several different forms. But thinking about it doesn’t do a whole lot of good, so here goes…

A few weeks ago, I talked about the graces I’ve received this year, despite the dark moments. And I continue to look for the positive things in my life. This week I’ve through about the multitude of blessings in my life. God gives each of us a combination of time, talent and treasure, and we are charged with taking what we are given in these three areas and investing it wisely. Some are more abundantly blessed with more of one than others. My maternal grandmother died before her 54th birthday, so she had less time in this world than my mother, who turned 74 last month. I have been blessed with artistic abilities in music and art along with logic, math skills, and a love for the written word. I’d like to think my abundance of talent makes up for what I perceive to be my lack of financial stores.

I think, though, that the most misunderstood category of blessings is treasure. I just mentioned financial treasure, but having pondered this for several days, I realized that my most valuable treasure in this world can’t be stored in a bank. It can’t be bought or sold or even insured, at least not in a tangible sense. No, my greatest treasure is my family and friends. I have blessed year after year after year with more friends than I can count (though Facebook may try…), from all walks of life. Having lived in four different states (and they all connect: CT, NY, PA & OH), I have established friendships in each of them. Granted, I’ve lost touch with far more than I’d like to consider, but I still remember them, and I hold a part of each of them in my heart. I’m thrilled that Facebook has allowed me to reconnect with a lot of them (Hey there, OLP gang!). I can only hope that a part of me has stayed with even some of those hundreds of people, for this is my legacy.

What we do with our time, talent and treasure shows the world what matters to us (“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:21). And using these blessings we’re given to make the world a better place is our calling in life. I have yet to read a book sitting on my desk at work, entitled Outlive Your Life by Max Lucado. But I have a sneaking suspicion that the gist of the book is to use these blessings to leave our mark on the world.

Once we’re gone, it is our legacy that will remain, but only if we’ve made an effort to do so. Some of the wealthy insure their legacies by donating money, then have a scholarship or a building or some similar perpetuity named after them. I don’t have that kind of money, nor do I desire it (okay, maybe I do a little…). My choice is to invest my time and talent in honor and support of my treasures, those I care most about.

Two of my dearest friends are doing the same, and this is where the favor I’m asking for comes in. Two very special women in my life are taking up challenges to invest in the future, using their time, talent and treasures for the greater good. I won’t spend a lot of time on their stories, for each has done a good job of that already. My friend Liz, who is recovering from surgery, and her husband have assembled a team to walk in the Susan Komen Race for the Cure, to be held here in Columbus in a couple weeks. I’d be shocked if someone told me his or her life has not been touched in some way by breast cancer.

My other “spotlight friend” is Nichole. I’ve only known her for a brief time, but she has certainly made her mark in my life and on my heart. She and her 9-year-old daughter have accepted the challenge to step waaaaaaaay out of their comfort zone in an act of faith, hope and charity. Later this summer these two lovely ladies will be traveling to Brazil to volunteer their time and skills in whatever capacity they are needed. They are responsible for transporting themselves to the volunteer location, and then the charitable organization through which they’ve arranged this mission trip will provide room & board. Still, each participant has a responsibility to finance their costs via the organization.

I can only do so much to help these women from a financial perspective, but I have an incredible resource in my network of family & friends. So I’m asking a small favor. Please consider donating to the fundraising campaigns for the three of them. Even $5 can make a difference. If each of my friends contributed $5 to each person ($15 total), their fundraising goals would be met and exceeded. I know that not everyone has the means to assist, and so many of you already contribute to the causes that are near to your heart. But I can ask, and I trust that this is enough.

The link to Team LizNoe is here: http://columbus.info-komen.org/site/TR?team_id=161842&pg=team&fr_id=2104&et=7UFnSP9BI6d6NW9qfsn5BQ..&s_tafId=63857

And to contribute to Nichole and her daughter (Raven), the link is: https://my.crossculturalsolutions.org/sponsor/sponsorsearchpage.aspx (enter Glover as the last name).

And again, since this is primarily my knitting blog… I finished the wedding afghan (yay!), and pictures will be posted following the wedding next month. I’ve also joined a charitable knitting project called Socks for Soldiers, knitting socks for active military personnel. The guidelines are somewhat rigid, but I think the organizers are flexible enough that I can incorporate this sock knitting work into my regular knitting schedule. Time will tell…

Knit On.

