A friend got me craving Chinese food last night, but I managed to suppress the craving until lunchtime today. And once again, I was mildly disappointed by the contents of the fortune cookie. It didn’t contain a fortune, just some random platitude. I wonder if someone once sued a fortune cookie because their fortune didn’t come true. So they stopped trying to predict some random happening for fear of false advertising allegations. That wouldn’t surprise me one bit.

After all, who wants to leave their fortune…their fate…their future up to some random prediction printed and packaged in a factory? No one knows what lies before us. Our future is, as some may say, what we make of it. But our future is always uncertain, for it can be altered so easily by so very many things, intentionally or unintentionally. That doesn’t stop us from making plans though. And this weekend I plan to take time to put my feet to use in support of my friends. Friday evening I will be participating in the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life in Groveport, Ohio. I’ve also been invited to sing for the Luminary Ceremony, which is a tremendous honor for me.

Last summer, I participated in a Relay event in Hilliard, and at the time I was walking in support of my friend Tony. In a couple weeks, we will mark the anniversary of Tony’s death. And I’m stunned as I sit here thinking back over the past year, realizing how many more people I know are fighting this battle. It seems like every day I read an e-mail announcing another diagnosis or a death. One friend had surgery today to have a kidney removed in the hope that cutting out the offending organ will relieve her pain. I’m no stranger to pain, what with my chronic back condition that has plagued me for nearly fifteen years. But I can take some Advil or Naproxen and lie down, knowing the pain will subside and that the condition isn’t fatal. As I witness my friends’ struggles, realizing the pain they’re enduring, I’m further humbled. I do what I can, when I can, where I can. And so I’ll be walking. I’m also hoping to knit a bit while completing laps – so let’s pray there’s no rain on Friday or Saturday. And while you’re at it, please say a prayer for Tim and Jacinta and John and Charlotte and…add the names of your friends and family.

If you’d like to contribute to my fundraising efforts, you’re welcome to stop over on my page: http://main.acsevents.org/goto/roocmc, but my deepest request is for prayers. And maybe once the Relay event is done, I can finally start looking at pictures and reminiscing about the fun I’ve had so far this year. And then I think I’ll go to the zoo…

Knit on.

