I had my small group meeting tonight, which was very helpful in getting me centered and grounded. I didn’t realize how much I needed that until it happened. We’ve been working on a book study as part of our spiritual growth, reading a book called Love Does by Bob Goff. This book inspires me tremendously, and the author somehow manages to get me laughing and crying at the same time.

Tonight we reviewed two chapters in which the author recounts two life-changing experiences (the key topic of his book). In the first, “Just Say Yes,” he explains how a misunderstanding and a God-incidence resulted in him becoming a U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Uganda. How random can that be? I love the author’s summary:

“I think God sometimes uses the completely inexplicable events in our lives to point us toward Him. We get to decide each time whether we will lean in toward what is unfolding and say yes or back away.”*

Yep, that pretty much hits you square between the eyes, doesn’t it? But the author doesn’t let up. Not a bit. In the next chapter, “The Interviews” he shares the tale of how his three children began something of a global peace mission following the tragedy of September 11, 2001. Three kids managed to get face time with twenty-nine leaders in nations around the world, just by writing letters. They’re parents made it happen from the standpoint of financial backing as well as supervising the visits, but the kids were the true ambassadors.  And the star thought of this chapter was actually a quote from a Russian leader the children charmed: “You know what it is about someone that makes them a friend? A friend doesn’t just say things; a friend does.”*

It’s statements like these, made throughout the book, that strike a chord with me as I read them. Shortly after we began our study, I began making notes in the book. After all, it’s my copy – it should become my resource. I underline key statements and put asterisks around the things I want to revisit. It will take time to absorb all this author has to share, but I am taking stock of my own character and aspects of my life and dealings with other people, in light of the points this author makes. In the spirit of Love, I am doing. (While I might’ve said I’m trying my best to do…as Yoda puts it so eloquently, “Do or do not. There is no try.”)

Knit on.

*Love Does, Bob Goff. Thomas Nelson, Inc., 2012.

