Venice

This year marks my biggest vacation adventure to date, a Mediterranean cruise. The trip was my treat to celebrate my first year without any tuition obligations. A friend put together a ladies’ cruise, and we had a group of eight that made it on board. This was my first trip to Europe, so I knew I had a lot of adventures to look forward to. Here’s some snippets of details surrounding the starting point for this adventure.

I left Columbus on Saturday afternoon, stopping at JFK in New York before flying to Marco Polo Airport in Italy. I was most looking forward to sailing down the Grand Canal, having seen it featured in The Italian Job as well as a couple James Bond films. But the movie that had me most psyched about starting in Venice? Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. It took some traipsing around and referencing my city map, but I did manage to locate the church, Campo San Barnaba, which was supposedly a church-turned-library in that movie.

Image

Ah, Venice!

On Monday afternoon, our ship set sail for our first port-of-call. This was the only departure I would see for the duration of our trip. This gave me my best view of St. Mark’s Square, though from a side vantage point. Still, this gives a great sense as to the “sea of humanity” in that space. While I was in the square, I was able to spot at least fifteen lions, the symbol of St. Mark. St. George & the Dragon have a nice position as well. I’m still in awe of the history here – like nothing I’ve seen here in the U.S.

Image

In my first day on the ship, I met folks from across the globe. I chatted with Eileen from Ireland when we were both up in the middle of the night. A couple from Tin Can Bay in Queensland, Australia, were companions during the muster drill. I also met a couple from Canada while making my way back to the port. Stay tuned for more tales of my adventures!

