Dubrovnik

For those who don’t know, the city of Dubrovnik is in the country of Croatia, part of the former Yugoslavia. This coastal city has a rich heritage, and is so naturally beautiful. I get the impression, based on all I’ve read, that it’s been discovered by many tourists. I was delighted to learn that my brother had visited the city while he was stationed in Bosnia-Herzegovina nearly fifteen years ago.

Certainly the biggest tourist attraction here is the Old City, a pedestrian area surrounded by a great wall. I had planned in advance and bought the Dubrovnik Card in order to save a bit of money. I didn’t get to utilize it to its fullest extent, but I’m still glad I got it. I shared a cab with a lovely couple to get to the Old City from Port Gruz, and soon after I walked through the Pile Gate and began my walk down The Stradun, the main thoroughfare.

Image

Once I’d walked all the way down The Stradun, I prepared to climb to the wall – there are three entrances to ascend to its walkway. Visitors can travel the entire distance around, and it’s certainly a sight to behold! For the first part of the day here, there was scattered showers, but the clouds past on as I made my way around the wall. Once I reached the highest point, I found someone to snap my photo with the city as the backdrop.

Image

A sad yet interesting fact about the roofs you see behind me. Dubrovnik suffered greatly from bombing during the civil war in Yugoslavia (1991), between the Croats and the Serbs. All those bright orange tiles are “new,” having replaced the original tiles due to the bombings. The duller roofs in some cases were not harmed in the bombings, but there are also instances where the roof was replaced and then covered with the remnants of the original tiles. From the wall, this detail is more noticeable.

Image

Some day I may return to see more of what the city has to offer, to experience more of its rich history. For now, I have many lovely memories of this day.

